Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Free money!

ECU English majors, writers, Spanish minors, and Russian students: get your scholarship application in by March 1st! by Monday, March 7th!

Got questions?  Contact Mindie Dieu at:  mdieu@ecok.edu

Ozella Elizabeth Waner Scholarship
Eleanor Waner Dedmon Spanish Scholarship
The Ozella Elizabeth Waner Scholarship is for freshman English majors, and The Eleanor Waner Dedmon Scholarship is for language minors. These scholarships cover the complete cost of room, board, books, tuition, and fees

Margaret Nims Scholarship
The Margaret Nims Scholarship is for English teacher certification majors. Candidates should be of sophomore or higher standing, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, and demonstrate academic excellence. One award per year of $200-300 per semester.

Reed Loving Watt Scholarship
The Reed Loving Watt Scholarship is for English majors. Candidates should have completed 60 hours of course work, with a minimum 2.5 GPA overall and a minimum of 3.0 in English courses. Financial need, academic excellence, and leadership form the primary selection criteria. The number may vary, but typically two to three awards of $200-300 per semester are given for one academic year.

The Consecration of Napoleon (1806-1807)
Daisy Moore Duvall Scholarship
The Daisy Moore Duvall Scholarship honors a student who exhibits excellence in literature and/or poetry. Recipients must be of sophomore or higher standing and have a minimum GPA of 3.25. Criteria for the award include academic merit, participation in extracurricular English department activities, possible submission of a critical essay or creative work, faculty letters of recommendation, and financial need. This one-year award offers one recipient $250 per semester.

Paul Hughes Memorial Writing Award
The Paul Hughes Memorial Writing Award recognizes excellence in original creative compositions. All currently enrolled ECU students are eligible to enter works of fiction, poetry, drama, or essay. In recent years, the department has awarded three prizes of $300, $200, and $100.

Beatrice Wisehart Spanish Award
The Beatrice Wisehart Spanish Award is for a Spanish minor who demonstrates excellence in upper-level Spanish courses, financial need, and potential for future use of Spanish. One time $25 award.

Study abroad and meet this Russian book-lover.
LeMoine Blake Crabtree Award
The LeMoine Blake Crabtree Award in Russian is awarded to a student with a 4.0 average in Elementary Russian I and II and who is active in the ECU Russian Club. Minimum award $200.

Criswell Memorial Scholarship
The Criswell Memorial Scholarship is offered through the Ada Arts and Humanities Council (P.O. Box 453, Ada, Ok., 74821-0453) for ECU seniors who can present evidence of past creative efforts and plans for future creative endeavors. One award annually, $400.

Morrison Scholarship
The Morrison Scholarship is for leadership in the humanities and performing arts. It provides $100 per month for one academic year.

Gary and Lind Ainsworth Study in Russia Award
This award is given to students who participate in Study Abroad programs in Russia or Ukraine. Minimum $500.00

No comments:

Post a Comment