Monday, April 25, 2011

We have winners!

The following award winners were announced at Monday night's English and Languages department banquet:

Best Essay in a Lower-Level Literature Course—KATHERINE CONRAD
Best Essay in an Upper-Level Literature Course—SAMANTHA MANUEL
Best Essay in a Writing Course—DAPHINE PECK
Best Essay in a Language Course—JOSH FORRESTER
Outstanding Portfolio Award—CHAD LARGE

Dr. Mara Sukholutskaya
Lemoine Blake Crabtree Award –

The LeMoine Blake Crabtree Award in Russian is awarded to a student with a 4.0 average in Elementary Russian I and II and who is active in the ECU Russian Club. Minimum award $200.

Eleanor Waner Dedmon Award –

The Eleanor Waner Dedmon Scholarship is for freshman language minors. It covers the complete cost of room, board, books, tuition, and fees.

Gary & Linda Ainsworth Award—

This award is given to students who participate in Study Abroad programs in Russia or Ukraine. Minimum $500.00

Daisy Moore Duvall Award –

The Daisy Moore Duvall Scholarship honors a student who exhibits excellence in literature and/or poetry. Recipients must be of sophomore or higher standing and have a minimum GPA of 3.25. Criteria for the award include academic merit, participation in extracurricular English department activities, possible submission of a critical essay or creative work, faculty letters of recommendation, and financial need. This one-year award offers one recipient $250 per semester.

Margaret “Peggy” Nims Award – SAMANTHA MANUEL
Margaret Nims Scholarship is for English teacher certification majors. Candidates should be of sophomore or higher standing, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, and demonstrate academic excellence. One award per year of $200-300 per semester.

Macy McDonald and mom
Reed Loving Watt Award – 
The Reed Loving Watt Scholarship is for English majors. Candidates should have completed 60 hours of course work, with a minimum 2.5 GPA overall and a minimum of 3.0 in English courses. Financial need, academic excellence, and leadership form the primary selection criteria. The number may vary, but typically two to three awards of $200-300 per semester are given for one academic year.

Ron & Barbara Young Award – JOEL HAMDY
The Ron & Barbara Young Scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in English who has completed a minimum of 59 hours and lives on campus.

J. H. & Joyce Criswell Award – ERIN ROBERSON
The Criswell Memorial Scholarship is offered through the Ada Arts and Humanities Council (P.O. Box 453, Ada, Ok., 74821-0453) for ECU seniors who can present evidence of past creative efforts and plans for future creative endeavors. One award annually, $400.

Ozella Elizabeth Waner Award – TORI WATSON
The Ozella Elizabeth Waner Scholarship is for freshman English majors. It covers the complete cost of room, board, books, tuition, and fees.

Paul Hughes Award—NATHAN GRIFFIN
The Paul Hughes Memorial Writing Award recognizes excellence in original creative compositions. All currently enrolled ECU students are eligible to enter works of fiction, poetry, drama, or essay. In recent years, the department has awarded three prizes of $300, $200, and $100.

Geraldine Burns Award—BEN NICOLLS
The Geraldine Burns Award is given by the Oklahoma Council of Teachers of English to a promising English Education major. The award includes a plaque, a one-year membership in OCTE, and an open seat on the OCTE Executive Board.

No comments:

Post a Comment